40

Today I am turning 40.  The Lord has given me 4 wonderful decades of life on this earth that He has created.  At this point in my life I am more blessed than I would ever have imagined.  He has filled my years with good things: an excellent wife, 4 precious children and new mercies every single day.

The Lord has given me the desires of my heart.  But by His grace He has consistently given me new desires.  I think that, had you described my life at 40 to my 20 year old self, I might have wrinkled my nose.  But I am so thankful for the unexpected blessings that God has brought me.  My plan would have been inferior in every way.

I am thankful that the Father saw fit to open my eyes to my sin and His gracious provision to cover that sin. I am thankful that Jesus Christ humbled Himself as a man and died a shameful death on a cross for the glory set before Him.  I am thankful for His resurrection so that death has lost its sting.  I am thankful that He lives to make intercession on behalf of those who belong to Him. I am thankful for the Holy Spirit who reveals Christ to me and opens the eyes of my heart so that I can see wonderful things from the Word.

If you are reading this I want you to know that God is a rewarder of those who seek Him.  He takes the initiative on behalf of His people.  His promises are true.  And I am thankful.

 

Leave a Reply

