5 Books I Liked This Year

Since I’ve been blogging again I’m averaging about 10 hits a day, 5 of which are probably me checking to see how many hits I’ve received.  But for you five faithful who continue to wander over I give you five books that excited me this year.  I do think lists are something we do well here at The Savannah Project.

George Mueller of Bristol by A.T. Pierson:  This won’t be the last you hear of this one if you keep checking this blog.  See the post below for an introductory quote.  Not only is this a fascinating story but Pierson is a very good writer.  This is a challenging book that I highly recommend you read immediately.  It will go on my list of book to read again.  That, by the way, is a short list.

D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones: The First Forty Years 1899-1939 and D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones: The Fight of Faith 1939-1981 by Iain Murray:  This past summer was one of the toughest seasons of pastoral ministry that I can remember.  Reading about the ministry of Dr. Lloyd-Jones was a huge encouragement. If you’re looking for anything critical Murray won’t scratch your itch at all.  But if you need to be encouraged to preach the Word in the good times and the bad this account of Lloyd-Jones life is just what the doctor ordered.

Just Do Something by Kevin DeYoung: Trey and I led a young adult Bible Study around this book.  I’ve interacted with stuff about the will of God before but I haven’t seen anything this clear.  I think you may be shocked by just how much of our thinking regarding decision making is tainted by unbiblical and even pagan ideas.  This is an easy read.  You won’t be disappointed.

Sinners in the Hands of a Good God by David Clotfelter: I’ve known about this book for a while and I’ve known of those who have liked it.  I finally picked it up this fall and was glad I did.  This is a very pastoral attempt to answer some tough questions about hell, judgment, and God’s mercy according to what the Bible says.  It is great to see how a study of God’s judgment can actually lead one to a clearer view of His mercy.

Why Four Gospels? by David Alan Black and Who Chose the Gospels? by C.E. Hill: This all started with a discussion with my father-in-law about Black’s book which then led to an evening with Dr. Black himself.  His book is a really helpful, lay-friendly attempt to deal with the synoptic problem.  Here’s a (very short) summary: Matthew wrote first, then Luke, followed by Mark who wrote down Peter’s lectures in Rome in which he authenticated Luke.  I came upon Dr. Hill’s book just as I was preparing to teach on the subject and was greatly helped.  When it comes to the gospels, the question of how we came to have only four, and these particular four, just isn’t as murky as some would have you believe. Even the chapter on papyri is interesting!

2 responses to “5 Books I Liked This Year

Leave a Reply

