The Dreaded Diet

Today marks two weeks that I’ve been engaged in that most dreaded of all physical disciplines: the diet.  I think that two weeks begins to feel like a real diet as opposed to some lame effort that begins Monday morning and ends that same day at lunch.  I’m sorry to say that most of my attempts at dieting over the last half decade have lasted hours rather than days.  Also contributing to the reality of this current diet is the fact that my weight is now accurately reflected by my driver’s license.  Here are some things about dieting that have occurred to me over these last few weeks.

First, I began to feel better within about two days.  Not that I felt bad before I started, at least as far as I knew.  I just feel way better now.  I have more energy and I don’t have the lull in the middle of the day during which all sofas, even those on the side of the road, have an unbearable magnetic attraction.

Second, healthy food tastes  better.  Fruit tastes sweeter, vegetables seem desirable and water seems refreshing.  These are all things that I haven’t tended to want.  Now I’m not being unrealistic here.  If someone declared Little Debbies healthy I’d be the road to Kroger within moments.  But for what it’s worth, I’m actually enjoying healthy food right now.

Third, there’s clearly an issue with self-control here and yes self-control is a fruit of the Spirit.  Over the last week or so I have found that there are other areas of self-control that don’t seem as…well…out of control.  What I mean is that this isn’t a purely physical endeavor.  This is all very much a spiritual issue that touches many areas of my life, not just my appetite for food.  Therefore, prayer and God’s Word have also been important.

Living in Savannah where everything tastes better fried and dipped in a mayonnaise based sauce doesn’t help.  I figure that I’m probably avoiding 1000 calories a day just by skipping the sweet tea.

One response to “The Dreaded Diet

  • Aubrey Hoeppner

    This post really brightened up my day. Switzerland is no place for the dieter. I eat so much chocolate and cheese every day. I have never experienced chocolate being an addiction to this level…but let’s just say that now I am not craving healthy foods in the way you described.

Leave a Reply

