Life gets busy…

…and blogging slips to the back of the “to do” list.  But I’ll take the busy.   Here are a few thoughts to break the silence:

1. On my last blog, SWFD (may it rest in peace), I blogged from time to time about what I’m reading.  I’ve stopped doing that for the most part having decided that, for me at least, there’s a fine line between encouraging people to read and sounding like I’m trying to brag about it.  It’s definitely cool right now in the blog world to talk about how much one reads.  I think reading is great but I detect, in my own heart at least, a slightly pharisaical tendency inherent in telling others how much I read.

2. Erika and the kids leave today to go visit her parents in Indiana.  Usually when they go I spend the first day or two enjoying the quiet and the rest of the time hating the quiet and wishing they’d come back.  We’ll see about this time.

3. American Idol is a huge waste of time and I love it.  I don’t like the two hours of singing on the first night except for Simon’s comments.  But I love the results show and I feel unprepared for it if I haven’t watched the night before.  I’m a Danny Gokey fan right now but I’m sure there’s going to be a Danny Gokey backlash.

4. If I was to break my silence on what I am reading I would mention John Piper’s new little book Finally Alive.  It’s a nice, clear presentation of the gospel in response to some mistaken notions in evangelicalism about what it means to be born again.

That’s all I’ve got right now.  We’ll see if this starts another blogging streak.

2 responses to “Life gets busy…

  • Cindy Swanson

    You’re right about the Danny Gokey backlash…it’s happening even as we speak, engineered by the kind of juvenile, soulless, obscenity-spouting people that hang out on websites like “Votefortheworst.com.”

    They’re trying to paint Danny as milking his wife’s death for sympathy votes. Obviously none of them have ever lost a loved one or have the foggiest idea what that does to a person. The *show* may be milking it, and they need to stop.

    I think it’s really sad that someone with as much talent as Danny Gokey could be de-railed by losers like this–and I’m just hoping they represent a very small, albeit vocal minority of the Idol-watching public.

  • Kim

    I love that it took you all of three paragraphs to break your “I am not going to say what I am reading” rule! I personally appreciate your book recommendations. I am often at a loss of what is good out there and I can almost always count on your suggestions 🙂

Leave a Reply

