Movies

I like movies…or at least I used to.  I graduated from high school and entered college, somewhat unadvisedly, as a film major.  I soon moved on to a different focus for education but I had just enough classes to learn to appreciate film.  I’ve followed film through the years and have definitely enjoyed the movie going experience.  I have tended to read reviews, even of films I’ve never seen.  I would say that there were many times when I could say that I had seen a majority of the movies listed on the marquee above the ticket window.  Those days are gone.

 

The last time Erika and I had an opportunity to see a movie we actually made it all the way up to the ticket window before decided there was nothing worth spending $10 on and going home.  The last time I walked through the aisles of a video store I spent way too long trying to find something worth renting and eventually decided on an older movie that I had meant to see for some time.  Nothing in the new releases seemed the least bit interesting.

 

I read the other day that 70% of movies these days get mediocre to bad reviews.  Of the 30% that are reviewed favorably I find most to be either too political or too prurient to be of interest.  I don’t think I’m more sophisticated.  I still prefer a good action movie to a drama. Some of my favorite movies of the last few years have been animated.  My appreciation for The Incredibles has not been a secret. I’ve seen all 10 of the top 10 grossing movies of 1997 and 8 of them in the theater. Of the top ten grossing movies for 2007 I’ve seen 4 and only two of those did I see in a theater.  I have no intention of seeing the other 6.

 

There are a couple of movies I’ve enjoyed on DVD lately.  I liked Akeelah and the Bee.  I also liked Son of Rambow.  I didn’t like Journey to the Center of the Earth.  This pick was entirely my fault and Erika is not to be blamed.  For what it’s worth she warned me. I don’t even want to talk about Nim’s Island.

 

I hope to enjoy a good movie going experience again soon.  I’ve got my eye on a couple of Christmas films. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

