Psalm 33:6

The earth is full of the lovingkindness of the Lord.

 

A lot of the anxiety filling our country right now comes from the fact that we think we are about to lose things.  As the economy seems to be getting worse around us we fear that we will not be able to buy the things and experiences that have kept us happy.  As I have searched my own heart about this crisis I have found that the anxiety comes from losing things that I want not losing things that I need.  I don’t tend to worry that I won’t have food to eat, clothes to wear and a place to sleep.  I won’t confess the things I worry about losing because even the act of writing them down reveals them to be almost unbearably trivial.

 

In light of a verse like Psalm 33:5 (and many others) I can see that my anxiety over losing those things is not just trivial but an affront to our good and kind God who wants to satisfy us by filling the earth with good things.  My heart yearns to be satisfied with so much less than Him.

 

It is good to be reminded that we serve a good God Who gives good things.  Everything we have that is good comes from Him. This earth-filling goodness comes even to those who do not worship Him. It has been said, “He might, if He had pleased, have made everything we tasted bitter, everything we saw loathsome, everything we touched a sting, every smell a stench, every sound a discord.”  He might also, if He had pleased, have made everything bland and colorless.  But He didn’t do that either.  He has filled the earth with good  and beautiful things.  The 33rd Psalm concludes:

 

Our soul waits on the Lord; He is our help and our shield. For our heart rejoices in Him, because we trust in His holy name.  Let Your lovingkindness, O Lord, be upon us, according as we have hoped in You.

 

Leave a Reply

