Why Savannah? #2

I made a profession of faith in Jesus Christ and was baptized at the age of 6.  I’m not sure that I would have baptized me knowing what I know now.  But for the most part I have tended to believe that as much as a 6 year old can have faith I probably did.  I have one of those testimonies where I don’t remember not knowing about Jesus Christ and for that I am eternally grateful.  I believe that during the first half of my life God preserved me.  He brought men into my life as Sunday School teachers and youth leaders who I think genuinely loved Him and desired to help kids like me come to love Him.  But until I left Savannah when I was 16 I do not believe that I had ever truly tasted of the meat of the Word (I Pet. 2:2).

 

In God’s providence, when he moved our family to Atlanta at the beginning of my junior year of high school we began attending a church where the Word of God was preached book by book, chapter by chapter and verse by verse.  The preacher in the pulpit was equipping Christians to go out and live for Christ.  I began to understand that the words written down on the pages of scripture were powerful as I submitted my life in obedience to the Lord who gave them to me.  I began to be exposed to glorious doctrines like the sovereignty of God in salvation.

 

So what does this have to do with Savannah?  When I moved away from Savannah my relationship with Christ changed dramatically.  God graciously brought individuals into my life who loved God and sought Him in the scriptures but I had never encountered a church where the same could consistently be said.  Over the years it has been a consistent thought in my mind that I would one day come back to Savannah to pastor.  I believe that Savannah needs more men who will bring the meat of the Word to people who so desperately need to hear it so that they too can be changed as I was almost 20 years ago.

Leave a Reply

