Why Savannah? #1

I hope that this will be the beginning of a series of posts that will answer the question, “Why Savannah?”  Some readers who know me are probably wondering how we got here.  Others who may be just stopping by may be wondering why I think a city in the southeastern US with almost 500 churches needs another one.  I’ll attempt to answer some of those questions.

 

Four months ago I found myself standing in the pulpit of Arlington Heights Evangelical Free Church announcing my resignation as High School Pastor, a position I had held for the previous four years.  For years it has been in the back of our mind that on day God might call us back to Savannah to pastor a church.  In January of 2008 God began to make this thought a reality.  In case you don’t know, I grew up in Savannah.  Until my 16th year when my family moved to Atlanta I didn’t know anything different than long, humid summers playing golf at Bacon Park Golf Course in between trips to the beach.

 

I recently read an article about church planting stating that some of the most successful church plants are those started by pastors within an hour of their hometown.  Theoretically I know all about the people I’ll be serving.  Savannah may have changed a lot in the last 20 years but the people are pretty much the same.  They need pastors who will show them from God’s Word that salvation is through Jesus Christ alone.  They need to hear that Jesus demands everything, not just Sunday morning.  They need a church where they can come to exalt the God (I Peter 4:11) who created and sustains them. They need a church where they can enjoy true fellowship (Hebrews 10:24-25) with others who follow Jesus Christ in this world. They need a church where they can be called to holiness (I Peter 1:16) and equipped (Ephesians 4:11-13) so that they can go out and proclaim the good news of Jesus Christ (Matthew 28:18-20) to those with whom they live, work and play.

2 responses to “Why Savannah? #1

Leave a Reply

